Towns and Beaches of the North Carolina Coast

North Carolina Coastal Sailing   name=The North Carolina Coast can be divided into Five Main Areas that includes the towns and beaches from the South Carolina to Virginia state line.

Brunswick Islands Beaches

The Southern most section is the Brunswick County Islands, that are known as the Brunswick Islands Beaches. The southern most is Calabash Beach in NC. Located at the North Carolina State Line. Next is the island town of Sunset Beach in NC. Next in the line of Brunswick Island Beaches is the island town of Ocean Isle Beach in NC . Continuing on, Holden Beach in NC is the next island town. Next is the largest of the Brunswick Island Beaches, Oak Island. Which includes Long Beach and Caswell Beach. Baldhead Island is the last of the Brunswick Barrier Islands and is accessible only by ferry from Southport. Separated by a little longer distance is the coastal town of Southport NC, which is a mainland town. All the the afore mentioned Brunswick Islands Beaches are separated only by a narrow inlet, but driving time from one to the next is approximately 30 minuets.

Cape Fear Coast

The next section of North Carolina Beaches are called the North Carolina Cape Fear Coast. Continuing up the coast from south to north, the Cape Fear Coast of North Carolina coastal islands includes Fort Fisher, Kure Beach in NC, Carolina Beach in NC , Wrightsville Beach in NC and the mainland port city of Wilmington NC.

Topsail Island

Above the Cape Fear Coast is the North Carolina towns and beaches of Topsail Island. Included , are the Topsail Island Beaches of Topsail Beach in NC, Surf City in NC, North Topsail Beach and Hammocks Beach in NC. Sneads Ferry and Swansboro are the two mainland towns in the Topsail Island Beaches Area.

North Carolina Crystal Coast

The next section of North Carolina coastal communities, also located on barrier islands, are called the North Carolina Crystal Coast. They begin with Emerald Island to the south and continue north to Indian Beach in NC, then Pine Knoll Shores, and Atlantic Beach in NC. Cape Lookout National Seashore, is the next island and is a National Preserve. Included in the North Carolina Crystal Coast are the mainland towns of Morehead City and Beaufort.

North Carolina Outer Banks

The last and longest section of the North Carolina Barrier Islands are the North Carolina Outer Banks. Your southern access from the mainland towns of Cedar Island or Swan Quarter, takes you by ferry to the southern most Outer Banks Island of Ocracoke Island. Traveling north from Ocracoke you come to Hatteras Island. The first town within a section of towns that make up the Cape Hatteras National Seashore.
A group of North Carolina coastal communities and beaches within the Outer Banks. The Cape Hatteras National Seashore include Hatteras Island , Frisco, Buxton, Avon, Salvo, Waves, and Rodanthe.

Continuing north, the upper part of the North Carolina Outer Banks include the towns of, Nags Head, Kill Devil Hills, Southern Shores, Duck NC , Sanderling, Corrolla, and Carova. Located behind Nags Head is the small island of Roanoke Island on which the town of Manteo is located.

Information About North Carolina Coastal Living and Vacations 2013